The Nativity of the Virgin Mary Church at Putinki gets its name from the Russian word for way ("put") as it was built in 1649 on the main road from Moscow to the Troitse-Sergieva Lavra. The church is famed for its tent domes and is rare as it boasts three tent-domes in a row. According to one legend Patriarch Nikon was so shocked at how far this church deviated from the traditional church architectural style, that he banned the building of tent-dome churches. This church was closed after the Revolution but was nevertheless maintained. It was returned to the Orthodox Church in 1990.
|Location||4 Ulitsa Malaya Dmitrovka|