Solovetsky Islands


The Solovetsky Islands are an archipelago in the White Sea, which despite their seclusion have played a significant role in Russian history. Today the islands' magical charm draws in many tourists who come to see the famous UNESCO-protected monastery and the islands' varied but always stunning nature. The archipelago consists of six larger islands (Bolshoy Sovetsky Island, Anzer, Bolshaya and Malaya Muksalma, and the Bolshoy and Maly Zayatsky Islands) and over a 100 smaller ones. The two main options for visiting are by plane from Arkhangelsk or by boat from Kem.

Basic facts
Name in Russian
Соловецкие острова (Соловки)
Solovetsky District of the Primorsky District of the Arkhangelsk Region
In the White Sea
40km east of Kem, 240km north-west of Arkhangelsk, 1,040km north of Moscow
Time Zone
Moscow Time
900 people
Foundation of Monastic Settlement
Official Website