Pereslavl-Zalessky's Forty Martyrs of Sebaste Church is located in one of the most picturesque spots of the city where the River Trubezh flows into Lake Plescheevo. It was built in 1775 in the baroque style replacing two earlier wooden churches which stood here. In 1919 a fire damaged its frescoes and the church was closed down in the 1930s. It was only reopened in 1996 after undergoing restoration work.
|Location||165 Ulitsa Levaya Naverezhnaya|