Coat of arms



Kazan is the capital of the Republic of Tatarstan and is also considered the Third Capital of Russia, after Moscow and St Petersburg. Famed for its magnificient white stone kremlin, the city makes a perfect weekend trip from Moscow and a base for exploring the rest of Tatarstan.

Basic facts
Name in Russian Казань
Name in Tatar Казан (Kazan or Qazan)
Status Capital of the Republic of Tatarstan
Location On the confluence of the River Volga and the River Kazanka
Distance 820km east of Moscow
Time Zone Moscow Time
Population 1,190,850 people (2014)
Founded 1005
First Mentioned 1391
Titles/Awards Third Capital of Russia
City Day 30 August
Official Website