Yaroslavl is so rich in church architecture that is it difficult to rate the various churches, but the Beheading of St John the Baptist Church at Tolchkov would most certainly be near to the top of the list. Only part of its attraction is due to the fact that it appears on the back of the 1000-rouble note. Its main attractions are its unusual domes and frescos. The church was built between 1671 and 1687 in red brick topped with an eclectic grouping of 15 green or black domes, which is unique among churches in Russia. After the construction of the church was completed, work was carried out on covering the church's interior with frescos in 1694 and 1694. These frescos have survived and are a must-see for their detail and charm. The frame of the church's iconostasis remains, but the icons have since been removed. The church’s bell tower dates from the beginning of the 18th century. The church is now open to visitors as a museum, part of the Yaroslavl Museum-Reserve.
|Location||69 2-ya Zakotoroslnaya Naberezhnaya|
|Open||10:00 – 17:00. Closed on Mondays, Tuesdays, rainy days and from 1 October to 1 May.|