According to legend the first church in Yaroslavl was dedicated to St Elijah as it was on this saint's feast day that Yaroslav the Wise killed the bear and conquered the area. This version of the church was built between 1647 and 1650 and is now one of the city's major attractions. It was built in the architectural style typical for Yaroslavl in the 17th century and comprises a white-stone four-pillared main building topped with five green domes connected by a closed gallery to a bell tower and a dome tower on either side. Inside it boasts a magnificent iconostasis and some of the best 17th century frescos in Russia which cover every inch of its walls. The church is now a museum, part of the Yaroslavl Museum-Reserve, although services are occasionally also held here.
|Clock||08:00 – 20:00. Closed on rainy days and from 1 October to 1 May.|